Audio Research Ref150 SE

opm

Aug 8, 2021
Hello, I recently bought a used Audio Research Ref150 SE with a usage of 2100h. I must say that I am delighted with this amp, it has explosive dynamics, incredible punch, and first-class vibrancy and realism.

As I am new to the world of tubes and AR, I have some doubts.

When I bought the amp I asked the previous owner if he had checked for bias and he told me that he had never done it in 5 years and he didn't know how to do it. When I got the amp the first thing I did was check for bias and miraculously it was pretty cool. Since 1 month and about 100 hours of use have already passed, I have rechecked the bias and adjusted it with the following values:
Channel L: V5 = 65, V7 = 63, V9 = 65, V11 = 62
Channel R: V6 = 65, V8 = 50, V10 = 65, V12 = 64

1. Should I be concerned about the value of the V8?
2. When valves wear out, what indication is there in the sound?
3. I have read that it is recommended to change the valves by an official AR service but they are very expensive. Worth it? Or can you buy combination valves on the Internet?
4. Can the life of the valves be extended to 3,000h without worry?

Regards,

Argonaut

Jul 30, 2013
N/A
Congratulation...The Ref150 SE is a fine amplifier.
Hmmm, yes, that V8 KT is a tad on the low side, V6 is master to V8 and you have it biased spot on however the slave in that pair V8 should be reading 57- 73mVDC, It may indicate a problem with the valve however it may indicate a drift in its associated bias resister.
I cannot remember whether V6 and V8 share a common bias resister but I think not As you can bias V6.

I would advise emailing ARC tech support, they are pretty helpful

microstrip

VIP/Donor
May 30, 2010
Portugal
Hello, I recently bought a used Audio Research Ref150 SE with a usage of 2100h. I must say that I am delighted with this amp, it has explosive dynamics, incredible punch, and first-class vibrancy and realism.