Bob Dylan Says Streaming Has Made Music ‘Too Smooth and Painless’

godofwealth

Feb 8, 2022
Bob Dylan Says Streaming Has Made Music ‘Too Smooth and Painless’ - The Wall Street Journal

https://apple.news/AEVZbxNbOQnGFJKHEzeWOdQ

I recall in the mid 1980s when I started assembling a serious music collection, it would take considerable effort. As a struggling grad student, I would seek out record stores, such as the Princeton Record Exchange, where I would look for recordings on my precompiled list.

Many bargains were possible, including getting large box sets of Haydn symphonies at prices even I as a struggling grad student could afford. The TAS HP recommended audiophile albums were usually priced beyond my reach. Inch by inch, over many years, I built my music collection, first on vinyl, and then on CD and SACD. The Penguin Record guides were invaluable as well, although as expected, they tended to favor British orchestras or European ensembles over American orchestras.

Vinyl still holds a favored place in my heart, even as I increasingly turn to streaming music, and streaming has of course brought enormous benefits to the variety of music I can sample sitting on my armchair. No more scrounging around in dusty alcoves of some record store or rummaging through flea market bins. It’s a brave new world, for sure. I do agree with Dylan: where’s the great music going to come from in this era of streaming? Is there a contemporary folk or rock musician who can compare with Dylan? A jazz composer who can compare with Duke Ellington? A classical music conductor who can compare with Fritz Reiner or Herbert von Karajan? A country music singer who can compare with Johnny Cash? A popular singer who can compare with Frank Sinatra?