docvale's new system

docvale

Mar 21, 2011
Briarcliff Manor, NY
Hi guys,

this is my first post in a very long time, so there's lots of things to catch up with and, maybe, the need of a re-introduction.

I'm an Italian bio-medical scientist, based in the US since 2009. I started my audio journey as a teen, when my father told me "there's this hifi show at the Plaza hotel, why don't you go?", unaware of the consequences of that weekend afternoon... :)
For quite some time, I resuscitated his old system, adding a portable CD player from Technics and hooked through its line-out to a Lenco A50 and ESB 70L speakers, till, in 2001, I bought a Marantz CD4000 and a Rega Mira. Not long before moving to the US, I added a Copland CTA405 amplifier and a Technics SL1200Mk2 with Ortofon MC-3 Turbo, building a system that is now giving happiness to my brother.

Once in the US, I found myself in a small, noisy Manhattan studio apartment, quite discouraged to build a decent system. Ultimately, I settled with a NAD integrated, Focal 705V bookshelf speaker and an HRT Streamer plus as USB DAC. I met the woman that became my wife soon after and her first gift to me was a Pro-Ject RPM1.3 with Sumiko Pearl. I added a Musical Fidelity phono stage and started binge-buying records on Discogs.
When I became a father, though, everything changed, we lived in 3 different apartments (getting quieter and quieter in terms of noise insulation, BTW) but the system started collecting dust because of the challenges of being parent of 2 kids.