Exceptional piano recording: Anderszewski Fantasies

VLS

Mar 7, 2019
Boston, MA
Came across this one by happenstance via Tidal/Roon Radio (which seems to be getting better over time).

I was shocked by how good this is: it's got to be one of the best recordings of a solo piano that I have come across. Astonishing dynamics, utterly convincing timbre, and sense of the instrument in real space.

Some might find the approach to the Mozart a bit too Romantic, but it totally works for me. I've only heard this streamed (w/ and w/o MQA); I imagine an uncompressed 88/24 FLAC (available from the usual sources) will be even better.

Would love to hear what others think.

piotr_anderszewski.jpg

Mike Lavigne

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
Apr 25, 2010
VLS,

thanks for the recommendation. been listening for the last 30 minutes and agree it's a very fine recording of piano, and i enjoy the interpretation and style, but with a caution i'm no expert on classical music.

big, bold and full bodied. the piano is nicely mic'd with a natural perspective. not distant, and not in your lap (in my particular system). agree also on the textures and ambiance. lots of overtones and decay.

i just like the music for itself, and might spring for the file too and see how much better it is.

Reactions: VLS

About us