FirSt experience with Shunyata Research Power Cords - Alpha NR and Alpha EF

Pfmaudio

Jun 28, 2019
Porto, Portugal
It is my first time with shunyata power cords. Being an audiophile for more than 20 years, I always considered a little exaggerated all the fuss with power cords, perhaps because the ones I had didn’t make for me, at the moment, a big difference in sound or perhaps because of the huge amount of money asked for a single piece of wire.
However, lately I perceived that the sound delivered by my system was nor up to pedigree of the pieces I have neither to the amount of money I spent on it.
My audio dealer went to my home and told me the power cables weren’t up to the quality of the system and advised me to look for shunyata research power cords.

The digital front end (meridian cd G08) had an old MIT z1, the preamp (Arc ref2 mk ii) a synergistic research X2 master coupler(it was the best cable of the bunch at the time) and the power amp (ARC REF 110) had a Nordeste Vishnu. The power regenerator (PS5) had the stock cord. The path defined was to upgrade the 2 minor cables on the system ( on the cd and on the PS5) for a Alpha NR (CD) and a alpha EF (PS5). The EF came with a C19 and a C19/C15 converter, also from shunyata, in order to make possible experiments with the power amp.

I arrived home late with the cables and tried immediately a first glance. As it was late night, I put on very low level, but something special was already coming up. I had to lower the volume to unusual low levels, even for late night listening. It seemed that the volume level could be lower than usual for the same loudness. The chords of the guitar of Maria Bethânia were more limpid, with better separation from the voice. However the soundstage seemed blurred.