Help installing/Calibrating Nagaoka MP-110 on Rega Planar 1

rogerrrr

Feb 9, 2021
Hi,

I'm new to vinyl and hifi, and have recently bought the Rega Planar 1, I want to upgrade the Rega Carbon Cartridge to the Nagaoka MP-110, and have one question with installing the Nagaoka MP-110.

I've researched on how to install it properly and have come across two ways of installing it:

1) From the Youtube video,

HiViNyws channel explains you have to change the VTA Position to 27mm, and no need to add a 2mm spacer.

2) From this other Youtube video,

Vinyl Explorer explains you have to add a 2mm spacer on the tonearm but do not adjust the VTA Position

I was wondering which one will be the better option or will both of these options lead to the same results or will doing both have a better sound?

I already know I have to adjust the counterweight with a stylus pressure gauge

Any help is appreciated, thank you

Addicted to hifi

VIP/Donor
Sep 8, 2020
Australia
Hi,

I'm new to vinyl and hifi, and have recently bought the Rega Planar 1, I want to upgrade the Rega Carbon Cartridge to the Nagaoka MP-110, and have one question with installing the Nagaoka MP-110.

I've researched on how to install it properly and have come across two ways of installing it:

1) From the Youtube video,

HiViNyws channel explains you have to change the VTA Position to 27mm, and no need to add a 2mm spacer.

2) From this other Youtube video,

Vinyl Explorer explains you have to add a 2mm spacer on the tonearm but do not adjust the VTA Position

I was wondering which one will be the better option or will both of these options lead to the same results or will doing both have a better sound?

I already know I have to adjust the counterweight with a stylus pressure gauge

Any help is appreciated, thank you
Nice turntable.congrats.

DasguteOhr

Sep 26, 2013
Germany
Welcome,