High efficiency horn speaker amp question

Sangbro

Dec 19, 2020
Hello,

From conventional High Amp world, I’ve a question regarding the relationship between high sensitivity/efficiency and amp power.

For example, in case of high efficiency horn speakers that can be easily driven by 12w tube amp,

SS (Pass Int 25) vs SS (Pass Int 60) would NOT make difference?

Or does still Int 60 make better sound?

I’m in a small room so I figure out that I’m good with Class A 30watt for most speakers, but

I heard that it’s always to have more power in the box to create deeper / wider spacial sound.

How about horn speakers?

Please consider that I’m new to this and be gentle ;)

Reactions: Tim Link

Sangbro

Dec 19, 2020
You need tubes with horns.
What would be the primary reason?

Tube like sound character? I don’t want to deal with ever increasing NOS price. Or I can just settle for Russians.
Anyway, I might consider swap to get Tube Preamp + SS PowerAmp. Still tube?

djsina2

May 30, 2019
What would be the primary reason?

Tube like sound character? I don’t want to deal with ever increasing NOS price. Or I can just settle for Russians.
Anyway, I might consider swap to get Tube Preamp + SS PowerAmp. Still tube?

Not all amps require or sound better with NOS tubes. Personal preference I suppose, but to me horns and SS seems wrong. It’s the equivalent of running a home theater system on tubes.

Reactions: Dr Morbius

Audiophile Bill

Mar 23, 2015
Sangbro. Which exact horn speakers do you refer to? It will have a substantial bearing on any advice.

Hear Here

Feb 14, 2020
Portsmouth, UK
Not necessarily and I doubt it's still true.

I have Avantgarde speakers and moved away from tubes a few years ago - no regret after trying a dozen SS amps to find ones that sounded as good or better than tubes.