How did you fall in love with Classical Music?

treitz3

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 25, 2011
The tube lair in beautiful Rock Hill, SC
I think this was instilled upon us all as we were watching cartoons when we were knee high to a duck many moons ago.

Tom

NorthStar

Feb 8, 2011
Vancouver Island, B.C. Canada
---When I was about 15 years old (I wanted to commit suicide).
And classical music* gave me an exit; a door to a wonderful world.

* I had a 12-album set of all the grand classical music composers.

Bruce B

WBF Founding Member, Pro Audio Production Member
Apr 25, 2010
Snohomish, WA
www.pugetsoundstudios.com
I was a classically trained pianist and then studied clarinet/piano in college.

Bruce B

Apr 25, 2010
Snohomish, WA
For my senior recital, I played Rachmaninoff's "Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini". I like the Russian composers most.

Reactions: rockitman

JackD201

WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
Manila, Philippines
My mother was a music major and pianist. She liked playing Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninov. She was also an english professor. Instead of enrolling me in pre-school, she took it upon herself to home school me before turning me over to the Jesuits. :D Lessons were at our sala where her piano was. During breaks I'd play with her spaniel and have snacks while she played. She taught me how to identify musical instruments by playing Peter and the Wolf. I guess like most kids, attention went towards the music of our respective generations. I came back to classical music in force when I was already working. It now takes about a third of my listening. Best part about it is that I know so little. It's an inexhaustible topic for self learning!

RBFC

WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
Albuquerque, NM
www.fightingconcepts.com