How Noisy Is Your Digital

Kingrex

Feb 3, 2019
I'm an electrician. I have been into improving audio power since I got back into audio about 7 years ago. For a long time I have heard people say, keep your computers out of your audio room. I don't disgree at all that SMPS , florescent light, unfiltered dimmers, motors, VFD etc create power line noise. They do.

But, what about all the Linear Power Supplies. To get a better sense of this I called my friend Ben at Mojo Audio. I have his Mystique V3 DAC and Deja Vu server. He should know how much noise the PS, clocks other high frequency devices polute the electrical infastructure. Boy did I get an earful.

Food for thought. The standard LPS out there is a doughnut transformer, a SS rectifier and some caps. These PS actually have issues. The biggest being power is 90 degree out of phase with voltage. That means after AC is rectified to DC, there are large peaks of the waveform to smooth out. It also seems this sort of PS does not do much to block noise created inside the unit from going back out and into all the other gear in your system.

Ben is pretty proud of his power supply. In the most simple form he is somehow introducing chokes into his PS in such a way that he brings power back in phase with voltage. This does 2 things. It halves rhe size of the rectified sine wave making the PS much more efficient. It also crested a much more robust firewall containing internal noise. It won't let chip noise and such back out of the server and dac and into your audio power.

I thought it all quite interesting as I study how best to shut down noise in our audio systems.

Last edited:

Kingrex

Feb 3, 2019
I have been rebuilding the power at a audiophiles house. Everyone was surprised how much reduction in noise came when I cleaned the panel up. Shocking. You just felt the room was much more calm and still. The bass was significantly improved.