I tested the new TOTALDAC GIGAFILTER usb cable

gionaz

May 3, 2018
Rome
Comparison of some usb cables for audiophile use

I've been testing some usb cables for a few months now, to connect the output of my streamer (momentary, I'm waiting for a new toy from Lucas Audio Lab) to the input of my TOTALDAC Sublime! Vincent, the owner of TOTALDAC claims that his creature prefers aesebu connections, but I find it very difficult to find a pure aesebu connection using a PC as a streamer/music server, there always seems to be a double conversion! The PC based on commercial hardware always uses an internal connection via the usb standard! Then let's use USB! Interestingly, changing USB cables changes the sound, for obvious reasons that can be traced back to digital noise reduction or modulation and time delay attenuation (more generally speaking). There are those who believe this and those who have many doubts about it, claiming that there is no basic research that can reveal the real electronic reasons why digital signals are so annoyingly dependent on the type of cable used.

We have a Spirit USB, an old version from a Danish cable manufacturer Dyhrolm Audio priced at 545 euros per metre.

We have an Oyaide Continental 5S V2 USB cable, costing around 450 euros for a metre and twenty.

We have a TOTALDAC d1 USB first version costing around 450 euros for a short length of cable encapsulated in an armoured filter.

We have an AUDIOQUEST DIAMOND USB, costing 929 euros for a metre and a half.

We have my reference cable one metre long, costing over 3000 euros

We will compare these cables with Totaldac's new one-metre GIGAFILTER USB cable costing 1750 euros.