Is there an Inherent Leanness to OTL Designs? Does the Speaker have to be Warm for OTLs to Work their Magic?

dpgals

Nov 10, 2020
I have been using the Croft Series 3 OTL amp for the last two years. These are feeding a pair of QUAD 57 electrostatics. I am really happy with the sound - sounds fantastic to my ears - really lifelike and amazing energy and presence in the music. The amp has had a few issues but Glen Croft lives about an hour from me in the car so he has sorted them out when things went wrong. He recently replaced the original classic transformer with 4 toroidal transformers and the amp now sounds even better. This is going to be my amp of choice now and cannot imagine anything better so I hope I can keep it going for a very long time. Here is a picture of amp before the transformer conversion and the wonderful QUADS, Highly recommended combination!!!!!

Attachments

• 20_Jul_009.jpg
    20_Jul_009.jpg
    889.8 KB · Views: 25
  • 20_Jul_011.jpg
    20_Jul_011.jpg
    854.5 KB · Views: 24
Reactions: Sablon Audio

Ron Resnick

Site Co-Owner, Administrator
Jan 24, 2015
Beverly Hills, CA
Welcome to WBF, dpgals!

I am sure I would love the sound of your system (as a long-term tubes on electrostatics person)!

I think there is a great deal of comfort in knowing that the manufacturer of your tube amplifier is merely driving distance away.

dpgals

Nov 10, 2020
Thanks - yes it is very special sound from the system - in terms of supporting kit - Garrard 401 SME V VDH Colibri cartridge, Lector phono stage, Allo Digione signature streamer - ESS Sabre chip DAC of similar quality to a Lampizator Pacific DAC running Roon, AudioPax Series 5 pre, Croft Series 3 OTL, Quad 57 speakers and a REL sub when needed. It all sounds fantastic to my ears. I am just about to upgrade streamer to Lumin U1 streamer.

Regards

David

Reactions: Ron Resnick

DetroitVinylRob

VIP/Donor
Dec 29, 2016
Metropolitan Detroit area, MI