"New" Terminator air-bearing linear tracking tonearm

spiritofmusic

Jun 13, 2013
E. England
I've been running the original Terminator air LT arm since 2013, and have not looked back. It took some time to "tame" it. As w all LT arms, the air bearing means that setup needs to be optimal, both in terms of level, and freedom of air supply etc. But get this right, and you're rewarded with a hugely rewarding playback experience.

Bass is deep and tuneful but absolutely start/stop as it is in reality. There is a misconception, urban myth even, that bass is thin and wispy on LTs. On Terminator, nothing of the sort.

Mids are crisp and textured, again way more like real life than many pivoted arms I've heard.

Treble is crystalline and incisive, no hint of metallic bite.

Soundstaging also benefits, I guess lack of bass smear allows a decluttering of the music to allow many spatial and temporal cues to emerge.

I moved from an SME V w Van Den Hul internal wiring to go to the original Terminator after 13 years of sterling service, and the uptick was substantial. Some adopters of Terminator moved from way more prestigious arms like SME, Graham, Airtangent, Airline, and I've heard some great pivoted arms since, incl the 12" SAEC 506 at UK Paul, but I was in no way minded to move away from original Terminator...

...until yesterday Lol, when I installed New Terminator, recently received from Andrey Shishlo, who has taken over production from original designer Vic. Andrey designed the makeover w help from fellow audiophile Heino Fagernes. So, a Russian/Finnish/British/US co-production (Vic is a US born guy living in UK).

So, the original design is replicated, a rail/slider system utilising a gentle cushion of air, low pressure and flow at 2-3 Bar (as opposed to high pressure systems like Kuzma Airline and Airtangent).

It's hugely non fussy other than demand for level and freedom of feed to the arm, and need to keep the small pump outside the listening room.