New Tubes

newmill

Jul 30, 2015
I have what might appear to be silly question for you guys. When purchasing new tubes for my Ref75 SE, should these be purchased from Audio Research, or , from an online tube store? Are there any potential pit falls either way? Can I rely on good matched set if I don't buy from ARC? Also, can I purchase directly from ARC or do I have to go through the dealer? As you can tell I have never bought new tubes before. Thanks.

Nemal1

Dec 9, 2018
I may be wrong here only speaking from a Uk perspective, but you purchase tubes via the country distributor, but you are paying an additional overhead and profit cost as a consequence.

I have always used RAM Labs tubes for my spare/replacements.

There are several companies selling matched sets for specific amps and preamps etc but I’ve no experience with any of those.

gadawg58

Apr 7, 2018
I have had good luck buying from Upscale Audio and The Tube Store for my tube gear. Both offer tube matching.

George

Reactions: Pacha

trekpilot

Apr 30, 2018
Germantown, WI
I used TC Tubes in St. Paul, MN when I re tubed my VT100 MK III. I gave them the numbers off of the tubes I had from ARC and they were able to send me as set of tubes that were very close to the ARC numbers.

Scott

lem321

Feb 7, 2014
I have what might appear to be silly question for you guys. When purchasing new tubes for my Ref75 SE, should these be purchased from Audio Research, or , from an online tube store? Are there any potential pit falls either way? Can I rely on good matched set if I don't buy from ARC? Also, can I purchase directly from ARC or do I have to go through the dealer? As you can tell I have never bought new tubes before. Thanks.