No Handshake

Macattack

VIP/Donor
Aug 21, 2014
SC Low country
Trying to get the connection from the SFP output of my Edge Router X-SFP to a Sonore Optical module then Ethernet to my Bricasti M21 to see each other. While I can see ‘light’ coming through the cable, the Bricasti and Router fail to handshake. I have rebooted the router and the Bricasti in many sequences all to no avail.

I am not an expert and have no idea why the Ethernet cable only connection would work but when I use the SFP output and Sonore OM, it doesn’t.

Kingsrule

VIP/Donor
Feb 3, 2011
Maybe u are mixing MM and SM modules or u have the correct modules but the incorrect type of fiber cable (again SM or MM cable)

Macattack

VIP/Donor
Aug 21, 2014
SC Low country
Thank you for your reply. The modules and fiber were purchased as part Sonore’s System Optique. While you may be right, I went with their recommendation.

Bricasti says it should work fine.

I am stumped. But happy enough using the Ethernet connection through my Gigafoil v4 so this is not a big deal.

Audioseduction

Dec 6, 2010
FLORIDA
Due to covid people aren't handshaking.

Macattack

VIP/Donor
Aug 21, 2014
SC Low country
Good one!
I still haven’t figured out why it’s not working so it all sits in a box.

kennyb123

Nov 30, 2012
Kirkland, WA
Sometimes the SFPs need an extra push to get them to fully seat.

Reactions: Macattack

About us