Ohms vs watts with amps and speakers

crazeuk

Jan 10, 2023
Hi all.
Firstly I am new to amps, speakers and this forum. Closest thing to decent equipment I personally have is bose and B&O personal portable wear.

I am helping a friend who has just opened a new restaurant.

It had a pre existing amp: Adastra RM60
With 16 speakers (not sure on model).

The refitters managed to take them out, mess with wires, damage clamp fittings and play with the settings knob.

So, I am unsure what the watt vs ohm situation is. I did notice some of the speakers where louder than others, so played with the settings on each speaker and realised 8ohms works the best.

The speakers are grouped in 4 x twin cables.

Then I did reading to work out what it ohms does.

Apparently makes a bad situation complicated.

What is the best setting to put the speakers on and wire the speakers (parallel/ series).

Any advice would be great. Thanks

cjf

Nov 19, 2012
Hi all.
Firstly I am new to amps, speakers and this forum. Closest thing to decent equipment I personally have is bose and B&O personal portable wear.

The refitters managed to take them out, mess with wires, damage clamp fittings and play with the settings knob.

So, I am unsure what the watt vs ohm situation is. I did notice some of the speakers where louder than others, so played with the settings on each speaker and realised 8ohms works the best.

What is the best setting to put the speakers on and wire the speakers (parallel/ series).

Since the amplifier your friend has is a commercial unit having what looks to be 100volt taps available I think you would be best served to use that Tap and feed the number of speakers you are dealing with...assuming each speaker already has a Step Down Transformer installed. This assumes ultimate sound quality isn't of concern here. If it is, then I would start over Rip/Replace everything.