Realistic lab 500

MACROSS

Aug 4, 2021
Hello to all! I have collected vinyl for 30 years but always bought simple cheap systems to play them on. I recently inherited a 1978 or 1979 realistic lab 500 turntable from my grandfather. It works well and is in original condition, I recently purchased speakers with rca cable 20210804_201148.jpg s but it does not play loud. I researched and it mentions needing a preamp and receiver. I am new to this but am looking for the best possible way to use this turntable on an affordable budget!

djsina2

May 30, 2019
You need to plug it into a MM (moving magnet) input of a receiver or pre-amp. Maybe get a vintage receiver?

MACROSS

Aug 4, 2021
You need to plug it into a MM (moving magnet) input of a receiver or pre-amp. Maybe get a vintage receiver?
I did do some searching for a vintage receiver but have issues trusting that what I buy will work. Would a stand alone pre-amp do the job? I was looking at some online and some are as cheap as 20 bucks.

djsina2

May 30, 2019
No it won’t. You need 3 things (MM phono pre, pre-amp, amp) and the cheapest/easiest solution would be a vintage receiver where all 3 of these components are in a single box. What’s your budget? “Affordable” on this site has a very different meaning! The audiokarma forum could suggest you tons of cheap solutions.

MACROSS

Aug 4, 2021
No it won’t. You need 3 things (MM phono pre, pre-amp, amp) and the cheapest/easiest solution would be a vintage receiver where all 3 of these components are in a single box. What’s your budget? “Affordable” on this site has a very different meaning! The audiokarma forum could suggest you tons of cheap solutions.
I am trying to stay around 100 dollars or less. Do decent workable vintage receivers with all that you mentioned run in that range? I will go take a look over at the audiokarma forum!

MACROSS

Aug 4, 2021