Slightly Warm Speaker cables

joeling

Jan 8, 2014
Hi,

Still looking for slightly warm speaker cables for my Gryphon Mephisto Stereo to ProAc Carbon 8.

Like a Cardas Clear but not Cardas - blows up the amp (see other thread)

Budget USD 5K for a 2.5m pair.

Regards,
Joe Ling

microstrip

VIP/Donor
May 30, 2010
Portugal
Hi,

Still looking for slightly warm speaker cables for my Gryphon Mephisto Stereo to ProAc Carbon 8.

Regards,
Joe Ling

Joe,

Easy, except on budget - try the warm, but full of detail, Crystal Dreamline. IMHO it is sounds better than the Cardas Golden Presence in my system - I have no experience with Cardas Clear. As they have now the Crystal Absolute Dreamline you can get the older version for nice prices.

JackD201

WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
Manila, Philippines
Try to audition the 2014 Harmonic Tech Pro-9 SE speaker cables

PS

I have no association with Harmonic Tech

Bodhi

Apr 20, 2014
Joe you might be able top find a pair of Jorma Prime sc's for around that price if you're patient. Jorma cables are natural and organic sounding which fits your Mephisto & the Primes are a bit warm as well. They are great cables.

Cheers,
Bodhi.

LL21

Dec 26, 2010
I have enjoyed using Transp Ref XL with my Gryphon Colosseum amp. 2nd hand, they run less than your budget.

edorr

WBF Founding Member
May 10, 2010
Smyrna, GA
I have enjoyed using Transp Ref XL with my Gryphon Colosseum amp. 2nd hand, they run less than your budget.

I have tried Cardas (Golden Reference), MIT, Shunyata Zitron Anaconda and Transparent Reference and to my ears the Transparents were hands down the most "warm" and musical sounding. There is a decent used market as well. You can buy current generation MM2's used at limited risk.

LL21

Dec 26, 2010