Studer a807Mk2 Went Down. Software display - Blinking Lights - Then Nothing

Claus H

Feb 4, 2022
Hi All, new here, I know I'm not the only one bringing this up; I have looked at other threads, but I need advice.

My 807Mk2 just had a seizure:
The meters went nuts, peaking a couple of time, with a hum in the monitor speaker, and then the deck just sat there.
When I tried turning it on again, I got the software year/version display, accompanied by flashing lights from the function lamps, and then nothing. Basically it doesn't boot past that.

I am not an engineer, but I am well aware of the reputation of the caps in the machine, and that the unit runs on an EPROM that is battery-powered and has a certain lifespan.
Thus, I already have gotten a replacement EPROM with the latest ('92) software. It awaits installation.

The deck was bought from Canada in 2005, having been gone over (according to the seller) by a Mr. Sam Lum who was mentioned as having been in the Studer North America service program when the decks were still being sold. I have had no issues with it up until now. I do not know what kind of caps are in the machine currently.

So, in plain English please:
Power Supply?
Caps dying? (if so, do a complete once-over?)
Maybe just the EPROM dying?

Also, very importantly:
I live in Washington DC.
WHAT ARE NEARBY (DC/MD/VA) QUALIFIED PRO REPAIR SHOPS/TECHS FOR THIS DECK, IF ANY?
I am willing to drive with the deck as I have no desire to attempt to pack it and ship it, unless that truly is the only option.

Sorry my first post has to be such a depressing one, but after having read up on other people's messages, I see there is a lot of knowledge about this deck here.

Any and all help gratefully received.

Thanks,
Claus.

Foxbat

Jun 11, 2020
Claus, post this question on Tapeheads. net, there is a technician there who works on them, his moniker is jsantoro, he is in Charlotte.

There may also be someone closer.

Reactions: Claus H

Claus H

Feb 4, 2022