TechDAS Airforce V arrived :-)

BillK

Aug 25, 2015
Fair point. I know that Thom Mackris, who makes the Galibier tables, doesn't like the cantilevered armboard approach. He's said this to me over email, and I don't think he'd mind me sharing his stance. Anyway, I just thought I'd express that I've heard at least a couple different philosophies on how to best mount an arm. I'm no expert, certainly!

Likewise Harry Weisfield has stated several times that he doesn't like the idea of vacuum hold down, which is why VPI sells their periphery ring.

Graham Engineering and VPI differ on the best way to do a unipivot.

SME, Rega and Linn differ on how to mount an arm to an arm board.

Ayre believes in no negative feedback in their circuits, ever. Boulder and Pass use negative feedback as they feel fit.

…and so on.

Each company does their own thing and usually has a reason why other companies are doing it wrong.

hvbias

Jun 22, 2012
New England area
For sure. And I think that the best we can do, as consumers, is go out and audition and gather the impressions of other end users. I keep an open mind on everything.

I agree with this. For instance I have never heard any turntable have the sheer close to "nothing-ness" of noise floor like AF1 and Basis Inspiration, approaching that of a Studer A80, which makes me think that vacuum hold down done properly is what I would consider a must have on an end game turntable. No periphery ring clamp from VPI or that one other manufacturer that made a heavier one came remotely close.

Reactions: mtemur

mtemur

Mar 26, 2019
Likewise Harry Weisfield has stated several times that he doesn't like the idea of vacuum hold down, which is why VPI sells their periphery ring.
I wonder if he come up with a logical explanation why. Considering he’s gotten rid of anti-skating on his tonearms I start to believe the necessity of vacuum hold down more.

djsina2

May 30, 2019