The B&G Z-92 or “Why the Hi End is Doomed”

marty

Apr 20, 2010
United States
I’ve been an audiophile for 40 years. This ain’t my first rodeo. I’ve been a hobbyist (made and modified a few speakers in my time), an enthusiast (listened to many) and for a brief period of insanity during internship following medical school, I was a dealer (circa 1979, Audio Shoppe in Pasadena, CA). The point is, I’ve seen and heard a lot of things. Most of them have been disappointing. Some have been fun to hear. Few have been bargains. I’m about to share a listening report of a speaker that has re-defined, at least for me, what “good” is all about in the wonderful but wacky world of audio.

The speaker in question is the B&G Z-92. It is made by Bohlender and Graebener, or B&G for short. They’ve been around a while also. Many audiophiles will recognize them as the original provider of the drivers for the Wisdom line of loudpeakers. The Z-92 uses planar-magnetic (ribbon) drivers in a 3 way design in conjunction with twin 6.5” woofers in a nice-looking, floor-standing cabinet. The 8 inch midrange driver hands off to a 3 inch hi-freq driver and these are aligned co-axially. I won’t provide any more details on the speaker since information on these is plentiful, as are some pre-existing reviews.

http://www.bgcorp.com/PDFs/Z-92-literature.pdf
http://stereos.about.com/od/reviewsandrecommendations/fr/BGZ-92.htm
http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/home...lanar-ribbon-speakers-and-210i-subwoofer.html

Of interest, B&G will OEM their ribbon drivers to others, and details on both the 8 and 3 inch ribbons can be found here:

http://www.radiapro.net/uploads/RadiaProNEO8.pdf
http://www.radiapro.net/uploads/NEO3WhitePaper.pdf