VYGER ATLANTIS MK IV

andrewbrownstone

Jul 23, 2019
I have been using a VGER Atlantis MK IV for around six months. We have experienced a number of problems with the Compressor/Vacuum System. However, my good friend Dr. Bjorn Osten has engineered a remarkable solution. He has basically started from scratch and re-designed the entire compressor/vacuum system and electronic interface control unit. He has separated out the power supplies feeding the turntable and arm; manufactured a new PCB; written a new Operating System; fabricated a separate off-board power supply; created a suction dump so that you can release the record within 2 seconds to turn over/change.
We are sharing these design features with Giuseppe (the brilliant designer of the VYGER) and Enrico.
My intention is to also buy the VYGER Indian Signature next. But the Atlantis is now a remarkable turntable. It is easy to operate. The Vacuum System is virtually quite (so it is located next to the Turntable in the same room and not in another room).
For comparison I have a Da Vinci Gabrielle MK II (arm and cartridge) and a Clearaudio Master Innovation with a TTII Parallel Tracking Arm (and a Goldfinger Statement Cartridge).
In the VYGER I was using a Mysonic Platinum Signature but replaced this with a Topwing Red Sparrow. The former is a great cartridge but more forward. The Red Sparrow is more laid back, more natural sounding and more convincing, realistic and musical.
I use these front ends into a Valve Phonostage/Pre/Power Amp System driving a variety of speakers. My aim here is merely to focus on the VYGER and the Topwing Red Sparrow.
If any of you guys have a VYGER and have experienced problems, there are no solutions that fix these known issues.
We are in discussions with VYGER for them to adopt these improvements so existing owners of these amazing turntables can take advantage of them. Very few people presently know of these possibilities.

Audiophile Bill

Mar 23, 2015