What Other Interests of Yours Relate to Your Audio Hobby/Pursuit

Bill Hart

May 11, 2012
Self-knowledge is a good thing. And I found that while my background as a copyright lawyer has gotten me to meet people and get involved in business of music, it is not enough.
I've been teaching some form of media rights course for more than 20 years. My current course focuses on drafting media deals, treating the conveyances as building blocks, understanding the meaning of certain legal conventions and helping younger lawyers draft clauses with a real understanding of the law and the industry conventions that shape the law.
But this is not enough. I'm planning my next ten years. And have found that my interest in audio history, archival studies, the various standards for preservation observed by 1st tier archives and the taxonomies of how to categorize and access information on recordings is now a passion. I'm thus pursuing an independent course of study at a post graduate level that will combine these interests. It's not like I need another degree,but I realize these interests tie in heavily to what I am most interested in, related to the pursuit of audio. It's been a slow evolution to get here and seems to be an additional accumulation of my knowledge base from the copyright law.
What areas of interest do you have that mesh with your pursuit of high quality audio reproduction?

jazdoc

Member Sponsor
Aug 7, 2010
Bellevue

Bill Hart

May 11, 2012