Would Acoustic Foam On The Ceiling Help My Room?

Nuprin

Jan 9, 2020
NC
I am a complete novice when it comes to room acoustics but acoustic foam is rather inexpensive so I though this might be worth a try for my flat ceiling.

The room is 14ft wide x 13ft deep and 8ft high. The speakers are roughly 2.5ft from the front wall and I sit about 2ft from rear wall with a large bookshelf that covers most of the rear wall. The room has plenty of furniture, blinds, coat rack and house plants to help with some diffusion.

I am considering a 4ft x 4ft section of 2 inch thick acoustic foam for the ceiling in roughly the middle of the room and possibly a 4ft high x 2ft wide acoustic foam behind each speaker. A wall coat rack and blinds pretty much cover the first side reflections. Also considering some corner foam pieces in the ceilings. I don't feel like the room is "echoey" in any way but would this idea deaden the sound too much or possibly help with some resonance?

spiritofmusic

Jun 13, 2013
E. England
Nuprin, am considering the same thing. Reach out to Al M who has addressed his own ceiling issues.

Some thoughts. First, go for an absorber/diffuser approach. Consider only first reflection points, maybe also second ones. Start cheap so you don't get stung if it doesn't help. Go light, so you don't destroy yr ceiling attaching and removing.

The two systems I'm looking at.

GIK Acoustics Versifusors.

Thomann Viscoustic Multifusors DC2.

Nuprin

Jan 9, 2020
NC
Nuprin, am considering the same thing. Reach out to Al M who has addressed his own ceiling issues.

Some thoughts. First, go for an absorber/diffuser approach. Consider only first reflection points, maybe also second ones. Start cheap so you don't get stung if it doesn't help. Go light, so you don't destroy yr ceiling attaching and removing.

The two systems I'm looking at.

GIK Acoustics Versifusors.

Thomann Viscoustic Multifusors DC2.