Popularity of a step-up transformer?

Corinthian

Apr 10, 2023
I apologise in advance if this question is a little convoluted and rambling as it is two pronged really. My Vinyl set up is a Bergmann Modi with Odin tonearm and an Ortofon Cadenza Black through a Gryphon Pandora pre and Gryphon Legato phonostage.

Although I'm very pleased with my current system I'm looking to experience a different sound from vinyl and so started to read about a variety of other MC cartridges and see that some of them (e.g. Koestu) talk of the benefits of adding a SUT. I have no experience of SUTs but I'm interested in knowing a little more. If you use one, why, what, and do you recommend it? Presumably the benefits are very much cartridge dependent?

The second part of my question is related, in that I'd like to add a second tonearm to the turntable - but with a completely style of arm and cartridge - I've seen that one forum member with a Modi has a Reed P3 and that setup looks good. The Legato only has one input so I assumed that I'm going to have to add another phonostage, but when I was browsing SUTs online I came across the Lampizator SUT-A, which has two switchable inputs for separate tonearms. Presumably it is possible to put two tonearms through the SUT and then output to a single phonostage? Musing really, but I'd welcome any comments, particularly if you have experience of any of the mentioned kit and can recommend a good way forward.

DasguteOhr

Sep 26, 2013
Germany
your cadenza is a neutral sounding mc. its resistance is 5 ohms so it is suitable for sut. For cartridge with a system impedance of less than 15 ohms, I would always go for a transmission ratio of 1:20. I would also recommend warmer sounding transformers,. I don't believe in switchable transformers because the signal voltage of the pick-up is small and switches can have contact problems over time. rather save the money for a second transformer. Then adapt it to the new other cartridge.