AT-VM95SH Cartridge Issue - Help

SalfordRed

Jan 26, 2024
Manchester, UK
I have just purchased a Audio Technica AT-VM95SH and installing this on an Audio Technica AT-LPW50PB turntable.

This is being pushed through an AMP.

The problem I'm having is that some records sound great, and some are terrible. At times the audio breaks up. Nothing else has changed on my setup. Is it likely that this is just a tonearm and Anti-Skate issue, and if so, how do I fix this as I've tried all sorts and can't see to find that sweet spot.

Please don't hit me with science as I'm new to this and could do with a not too technical answer. Thank you.

mulveling

Jul 6, 2017
Anti-Skate won't cause that unless you apply WAY TOO MUCH. Until you get this issue settled, I'd advise setting anti-skate to 0 to take that variable out of the equation (it's fine to run this way).

Unfortunately there's a range of potential causes, and your immediate task is narrowing these down. Here's where you need to start:
1. Is your table platter LEVEL?
2. How did you set VTF (tracking force)? Do you know what it's set at right now? A VTF that is way too low is more likely to cause the issue you describe. A way too-high VTF will usually sound OK until it bottoms out the suspension, but of course this will increase wear on your records and stylus.
3. Check that your arm tube is actually totally clearing the cue rest across the record surface. This is a very common cause of tracking issues.
4. Your turntable has a choice of output: PHONO or LINE. This choice in combination with your amp's utilized input & settings are very crucial. There are right combinations and wrong ones - for example, you could doubly amplify the signal and cause overloading in the 2nd phono stage (which could be what you hear wrong). What can you tell us about your current settings?