Burmester 151 Musiccenter - Whats the next step?

DomA

Mar 29, 2022
Hi all, this is my first post here as a new member.

I have been streaming for approx 10 years now and currently own the 151 Musiccenter. When I say streaming, I mean my own curated library that has been ripped and managed by myself. There are many hidef albums too, mostly PCM but just a few DSD albums (play these on my office system). Everything is ripped/downloaded in full fat WAV. My library size is approx 900 albums in total.

I believe there are some Burmester owners on this forum and probably forum members with Burmester experience too. I am interested in your opinions/experience on just how good the 151 Musiccenter is.

Having owned the 151 for nearly 2 years and with many hours listening time, I am absolutely thrilled with its performance and music playback. I can listen for hours/days without any fatigue whatsoever. Voices and instruments sound so real and the tone of the instruments is just unbelievable imo. I am happy with every aspect really but in particular drums. On certain albums I can hear/differentiate the different drum skins that are been hit. Its as if the drummer is in the room and is simply wonderful. Cymbals too. There is no hint of digital glare at all.

Of course system synergy is key and i think you can see my system in my profile. Redbook CD ripped never fails to astound me as to how good it sounds on my system. I sometimes think I am listening to hidef music. I do also understand that the original recording, mixing and hardware used by the studio is paramount to the end result.

So, if I was to change my source, probably a music server transport into a DAC, what would be considered the next level DAC from my current setup? My preference is to achieve an analogue type sound that you can just listen to and enjoy for days on end.