Feedback needed to help sort through issues involved in developing a digital front end

tinkerphile

Nov 27, 2021
I'm in the process of developing criteria for a new digital front end - server/player. After reading extensively here on WBF and elsewhere, I've noticed quite a number of discussions, some quite detailed, others not so much, about how the OS or employment of various applications/software can affect SQ. For example, I've observed a couple of sophisticated members remark that Linux "sounds thin," Roon colors the source signal, Tidal water mark results in degradation of SQ, and so on. Some have advocated for Windows LTSC as optimal for a digital front end foundation. I am relatively new to this arena, but a guy has to start somewhere. At this point, I'm somewhat inclined to consult with Larry for an LDMS build (perhaps a bit prematurely?). I have looked at a number of vendors, however: Antipodes, Innuous, etc. My particular situation is simpler than most, since at the present I do not access stored files for playback; rather, I simply stream Qobuz and will likely continue to do so for some time. My system is also simple (not detailing my vinyl side): Pass Labs Amp/Pre, Golden Atlantic TRP DAC, DeVore '96s in a dedicated listening room I am in the process of "professionally" treating - hoping to accomplish a first-class job of it, as I know a lot more about acoustic engineering than I do digital servers/players :) My general objective is to ensure I eventually implement a digital front end consistent with the digital SQ potential of the Lampi Dac.

MarcelNL

Mar 15, 2021
I'm in a build, and will audition OS later on. piecemeal statements such as 'Linux sounds thin' are a bit bold IMO as it all comes down to how things are set up but I'm sure there are sound attributes to various systems but in the end it is like picking a high end interlink...pick your poison.