Hapa Audio Aero Cu Coax (S/PDIF RCA)

Zuman

Feb 25, 2023
I recently moved my primary system from a built-in shelving-and-cabinet arrangement in our living room to a freestanding rack in a lower-level recreation room. Moving from the constraints of the built-ins to a Solidsteel S-Series rack allowed me to be more selective in both my speaker cables and interconnects, choosing shorter runs and having much better access for switching cables and components in and out.
In its simplest form, I have a NAD Masters Series M50.2 digital vault/player connected directly to a NAD Masters M32 integrated digital amp (the M32 not only includes preamp functions and a DAC, but also has an MM phono input, which immediately converts the phono signal to digital before performing any other operations with it). The M32 is particularly noted for extremely short signal paths. I also have a modified Rega table, but I didn't use that in the listening I'm writing about here. My speakers are CSS Criton 2TD-X MTMs with the upgraded crossovers, on Isoacoustics GAIA II feet, sitting on sand-filled Pangea stands, and connected by Audio Art SC-5 ePlus Cryo cables.
I decided to compare the few digital interconnect cables I have on-hand with Hapa Audio's digital RCA copper coax with the aerogel dielectric. Given aerogel's unprecedentedly-low material-to-air ratio, I was interested in whether I could actually hear any difference between that construction and a more traditional dielectric.
I asked Jason Wong of Hapa Audio for two of those interconnects to audition because I'd also just purchased a miniDSP SHD streamer/Dirac processor, and with that inserted into the system, I'd need to run one digital coax from the M50.2 to the miniDSP and another out from the miniDSP to the M32 (without the miniDSP, I could use just one digital interconnect between the M50.2 and the M32). Jason graciously responded and shipped two 0.75m cables out to me.