Project Primary E turntable slightly distorted

jotavinyl

Jan 18, 2024
Madrid, Spain
Hi!!

I recently got a ProJect Primary E, which has got very nice reviews for the entrly level segment.

Question is: I hear the sound a bit distorted. In fact I returned a first Primary E in which the distortion was unbearable: it made the turntable directly not usable.

Two days later I received a second one: the distortion level is by no means that of the first one, but I've got quite a trained ear (I am a drummer, piano player, bass player and producer) and I notice a slight distortion in the left channel at times...

Is it related with the stylus? It comes bundled with an Ortofon OM NN, which I think is low-end entry level as well. Perhaps an Ortofon Pro-S would improve?

Or could be that the turntable is delivering too hot a signal to the amplifier?

I am using the MM position in the amplifier PHONO input (a Sansui A-60), see attached. Is that correct?

Attachments

• 1705605793002.jpg
    1705605793002.jpg
    405.3 KB · Views: 3

mtemur

Mar 26, 2019
Could be anything but stylus looks more like the culprit here. I recommend trying a better cartridge. Swapping amplifier (phono) also worths considering.

Reactions: jotavinyl

jotavinyl

Jan 18, 2024
Madrid, Spain
Could be anything but stylus looks more like the culprit here. I recommend trying a better cartridge. Swapping amplifier (phono) also worths considering.
Thanks for your reply. The turntable mounts an Ortofon NN, as shown in the attached box picture. Would you recommend changing the stylus only or the full cartridge, as I seem to read? In such case....which cartridge would you recommend for this Primary E model?

Regards...

Attachments

• 1705851888559.jpg
    1705851888559.jpg
    624.9 KB · Views: 4

mtemur

Mar 26, 2019