Qobus Denies Access To Music I Own

Kingrex

Feb 3, 2019
My Qobuz subscription lapsed. Not using it at the moment. I went into my phone and logged onto Qobus to stream to a whole home music system I have. I pulled up albums I own. As in, I bought the albums from Qobuz. I am not able to play anothing other than snips unless I have an active subscription. Does this sound correct. It seems to be what I'm experiencing. Pisses me off. Why the heck else would I pay to own the album.

My Qobuz subscription lapsed. Not using it at the moment. I went into my phone and logged onto Qobus to stream to a whole home music system I have. I pulled up albums I own. As in, I bought the albums from Qobuz. I am not able to play anothing other than snips unless I have an active subscription. Does this sound correct. It seems to be what I'm experiencing. Pisses me off. Why the heck else would I pay to own the album.
Rex, i've bought only one file from Quboz but never went through any process to move it to an off server NAS location, and not sure it's possible. i was not planning on doing much of that so never dived deep into the process. you might be stuck. don't know. without a current Quboz membership, there could be a trigger missing to access it.

i do see that title in my 'Album' section of my Roon system; but don't know exactly what that means.

you need to investigate what buying a title from Quboz actually means. my 2 cents is buying files might be better done from HD Tracks or other independent sources to make sure it's clear of the streaming environment.

Last edited:
I'm guessing you own the files (you can download them, right?), but need to pay for the streaming service if you want to stream them. If you download them you can stream locally. Assuming you are ok with the notion of a subscription model, this makes sense. You paid for the music, not to use their infrastructure forever.

Reactions: the sound of Tao