Banana Bread (Loaf) Recipe

Johnny Vinyl

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
May 16, 2010
Calgary, AB
If you have the time or the inclination to bake something that you normally wouldn't, give this recipe a try. I've been making this for over 20 years and have yet to receive a negative comment. In fact, most have said this is the best recipe for Banana Bread or Banana Loaf (call it what you will) that they have tasted.

Important:
1. Make sure that the bananas you use aren't overly ripe. If they are it raises the sugar content way too much, and it also reduces the density that this bread (loaf) should have.
2. Use 3 large bananas or 4 medium bananas.
3. Do not use the dried SunMaid type raisins. They will get tough and chewy.

Banana Bread (Loaf) Recipe:

1 3/4 cup of unsifted All-Purpose Flour
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
3/4 tsp Salt
3/4 cup Sugar
1 cup Sultana or Golden Raisins ( a little more or less to taste is fine)
1 large Egg (lightly beaten)
1/4 cup of Vegetable Oil
3 large or 4 small Bananas MASHED
1/2 cup of Milk (2%)
1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
1/2 tsp Cinnamon powder
Brown Sugar (see end of recipe)

Mix all of the dry ingredients (including the raisins) into a large enough bowl.
Next, combine the wet ingredients and then stir into the dry ingredients with a wooden spoon or something like that. Stir until everything has been completely incorporated.

Grease a 9x5 loaf pan liberally with Butter (don't use a spray), and pour the mixture into it. Tap it once or twice to make sure it's properly settled. Now sprinkle Brown Sugar liberally over the mixture until completely covered. That's it!

Preheat your oven to 375 and bake for 1 hour. Since all ovens vary please check after about 45 minutes. Some people have tried this at 350 for 50 minutes, but for me that doesn't work. YMMV.

Enjoy! And if you do try it, please let me know how it turned out and how you liked it.