Center Channel to use with Sunfire Cinemas for possible 3.1 set-up?

mburkstrand

Jan 17, 2022
Hi,

I am a relative audio newbie. I was gifted a pair of Sunfire Cinema Ribbon speakers. I am setting up a 3.1 Movie/TV system (with occasional music, but lower priority) in my Family room. I have an Onkyo DS575 receiver and a Yamaha SW100sub. Based on these gifted speakers, I am thinking of a couple of options and would like opinions/feedback.
  • Keep the Sunfire speakers, and try to find a center channel that matches. I can’t get the Sunfire center channel, unless I find it used, and even then that might be too expensive Are there other center channel recommendations that might work well with the Sunfires?
  • Move the Sunfires to a possible 2.1 system in my basement, and purchase a lower cost 3 speaker setup. I would prefer the smaller form factor, if possible (Wife prefers non-intrusive), of the Sunfires for the mains, as well as a lower profile center channel. Are there brand recommendations I should look at? Would like to stay under $300.
  • Attempt to sell the Sunfires, and use the profits to increase my budget for the 3 speakers. Would there be a market for the Sunfires? If I am able to increase the budget, then I will attempt to convince my wife that larger speakers (if recommended) would work.
Thanks again for your help. I understand that speaker preferences vary from person to person, but with all of the different manufacturers, would like to get a general idea of what works for a majority of people. I am not an audiophile by any means, and I don’t think I have a distinctive enough ear to differentiate between the lower and higher cost speakers.

Thanks for reading. Please let me know if you need additional information. -Mike

About us