Decidedly non-audiophile recommendations

Horns4life

Mar 27, 2022
Since I’m new to WBF, thought I’d throw out a couple quick recommendations on some music that the gang here may not be aware of. Disclaimer, I really don’t listen to any traditional audiophile or high-res material, everything I listen to is 44.1. I do love simple jazz such as red garland and similar but the bulk of my listening bends closer to old school alternative/rock with favorites being the early albums from bands like The Replacements, Kings of Leon, My Morning Jacket, Black Keys, etc…that hopefully sets some sort of baseline reference for these recommendations.

First recommendation is a band called My Drug Hell. Their discography is on Tidal and I really like all of it with my favorite being their first self-titled debut album, the song that actually got me into them was #4 off that album - ‘Girl at the bus stop’. If you listen to nothing else by them, I think it’s worth checking this song out at minimum. The other album I love by them is ‘The Dregs of My Drug Hell’, entire album is great but for some reason there’s something about the song ‘Waiting for Anna’ that I just can’t get enough of. I thought it worth while to post a recommendation on these guys for 2 reasons …#1-they’re pretty obscure so I’m hoping to introduce some cool new music most may not have heard of before. And #2 - these guys have such a unique sound. I honestly have never heard anything like them…it’s a paradoxical mix of super chill and laid back but in a weird way still rocks. I can honestly say that their albums are the ones I can best/easiest listen to the whole way through in one sitting without getting antsy or bored - just something so cool about these guys.