Do TAD owners generally Biwire? I had quite a revelation.

Avidlistener

Feb 18, 2013
I have been bi-wiring for so many years I didn’t have much experience with single wire on my CR1’s, which I’ve owned for over 12 years.

I actually quad wire, since I run subs at high level and an electrostatic super tweeter as well, from 2 pairs of binding posts on my amps.

I recently reviewed the AGD Audion GAN amps for The Absolute Sound’s YouTube channel

Due to the amps single binding posts and only having banana plugs on the Iconoclast speaker cables I use, I had do the review single wire and use the jumpers TAD provides.

Once the review was over, I just left the BHK amps hooked single wire for a few weeks, using the Iconoclast top series 2 cable which usually just powers the concentric driver. I thought there might even be a benefit since the woofer was being fed by a better cable than the series 1 which is used with biwire.

After switching back to Biwire, I couldn’t believe how much better the entire spectrum sounded. Less congested! Iconoclast actually recommends the combo of series 2 on top, series 1 on bottom, claiming it flattens out the impedance (beyond my understanding of such things)

What have other TAD owners found?

About us