Given this room, what is best for windows reflection and correct positioning of speakers

the sound of Tao

Jul 18, 2014
  • Love
Reactions: Gankhuyag

Duke LeJeune

[Industry Expert]/Member Sponsor
Jul 22, 2013
Princeton, Texas
Thank you for supplying so much information, Gankhuyag.

And I can't help but notice that your English is better than mine.

I am aware of at least one US-based acoustician who does all of his work remotely, so it matters not whether you live on the other side of town or the other side of the planet. He knows the acoustic properties of all sorts of ordinary materials so he can tell you how to disguise "room treatments" if needed. His name is Jeff Hedback, he is a multi-award-winning recording studio designer, he has done work for some of the members here, and he is still affordable:

Compared to him I am a total amateur, but here is my first thought, looking at the rendering in your initial post:

Would it be feasible to set up your system along a diagonal? In other words, using that first image as the starting point, move one of the speakers to that widest panelled section along the glass wall, and leave the other one on its original wall, but repositioned to be symmetrical with the one we moved. So now that corner is in between (and behind) the two speakers, and the best listening area would be along the centerline between the two speakers, so along the diagonal. This would probably call for re-arranging the rest of the room as well, but if the top priority is sound quality, it might be worth it.

Here is why this geometry should work well: The undesirable first reflections off of the two "side" walls, the glass wall and the one where the speakers are now, would miss the main listening area. No significant early reflections means that you would probably have much less need for room acoustic treatment. Also, from the main listening area, the view out the windows is a little over half of your normal field of view.