Hafler DH101

teknobeam

Apr 30, 2022
Hi. I hope that this question is in the right forum.
I am rebuilding a Hafler DH101 and upgrading the capacitors and replacing the resistors with metal films, etc.
I am also replacing all of the transistors and rebuilding the power supply with all new parts..

What I noticed is that there are some tantalum capacitors (2 in series at each location) that feed the base legs of push pull transistors at the Phono input section.
There are also the same tantalums in line between the volume control and the high level gain stage of the preamp.

I know that you can swap out tantalums for electrolytics or even mica's, but I read somewhere that tanatalums can be vital and inherent to the sonics of an audio circuit in certain situations. This issue was discussed regarding Neve recording console input strips that are jam packed with tantalums, etc.
I'm not an electronics engineer so I am unable to determine whether or not swapping out the tantalums for something else will degrade the fidelity of the preamp?
Thanks in advance for any advice on this.

Alrainbow

Dec 11, 2013
I am rebuilding a Hafler DH101 and upgrading the capacitors and replacing the resistors with metal films, etc.
I am also replacing all of the transistors and rebuilding the power supply with all new parts..

What I noticed is that there are some tantalum capacitors (2 in series at each location) that feed the base legs of push pull transistors at the Phono input section.
There are also the same tantalums in line between the volume control and the high level gain stage of the preamp.

I know that you can swap out tantalums for electrolytics or even mica's, but I read somewhere that tanatalums can be vital and inherent to the sonics of an audio circuit in certain situations. This issue was discussed regarding Neve recording console input strips that are jam packed with tantalums, etc.