iFi Audio Neo Stream - The Official Thread

pennpencil

Nov 9, 2020
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I'll forward it to the team so they can figure out a better way to inform you guys about the functions.

Let me address your questions here:
1. Optimal outputs depend usually more on the DAC, than the streamer. Usually, DACs (especially older ones) sound better with COAX/AES inputs than USB, but it is really case-dependent. No one good answer here, sorry.
2. To bypass internal DAC, just use digital outputs. DAC as is in the name provides the analogue outputs. Everything digital is taken before it, so no worries about it :)
3. WiFi is usually the least recommended network connection. If you have one stable connection, you can disable the rest. The optical one is the best.
4. The USB output will be active only when NS sees an active USB receiver. So when you turn your system on, please turn your DAC first, so NS can automatically latch onto that.
5. Quobuz, I have no knowledge about whether it is planned to be integrated or not. Can't help here, sorry.
6. Yes, you can use AirPlay 2 to connect your iPad to NS. It will be detected and selected automatically.

If I missed anything please let me know :)
Thanks so much for your answers. Do you know what the link icon (chain) on the NS display does? I think I can turn on the link when I’m on iFi.local. But I can connect without turning on that link icon.

AMR / iFi audio

Industry Expert
Aug 21, 2019
UK
ifi-audio.com

pennpencil

Nov 9, 2020
I’d like to use an IfI USB a to B cable to go from my Neo stream to my dac. My dac has a 2.0 USB input. I can’t find a mercury or Gemini USB 2.0 USB cable for sale. Everything is USB 3.0. Do you know where I could purchase a 2.0 USB cable made by ifi?

AMR / iFi audio

Industry Expert
Aug 21, 2019
UK
ifi-audio.com