Purchased vintage speakers and looking or advice on setting up with pc

Stillmat1k

May 2, 2021
I recently purchased a pair of Ohm Walsh 4 speakers and I'm looking for some advise and guidance on how to best set them up. I have very little experience with audio but I do appreciate quality audio so any and all help is appreciated.

I do not have any other kind of hardware aside from my PC which has an inexpensive sound card (Creative Sound Blaster Z). I use my PC to play my movie files on my TV which has a sound bar as well. My pc is also my main source of music. I have a large collection of high quality .flac music files. I have some small active speakers that I use if I'm not using my headphones. I occasionally game as well and will use my headphones for that.

So my main concern is these speakers are passive and so need something to power them. However I'm a little confused on what I need exactly... Pre amp, amp, DAC, receiver, etc.

I do have some old receivers laying around and I was planning on testing those out to see how they work. One is a Yamaha SW-201 and another is a newer but I believe lower quality Samsung receiver (model unknown but will update). One concern with the Yamaha is that there's no HDMI. Another is that assuming I'm mostly going to be playing digital audio files and movies that this receiver is outdated and won't be able to output the quality of my files? In this case would I need a better receiver? Or maybe just a DAC? Can I even hook up a DAC to my pc and then directly to the speakers or do I have to have a receiver? Does a receiver replace an amp since it has one built in? Maybe I should look at a good used newer receiver?

I don't want to spend a ton of money as I just spent $700 on these speakers but I understand that I might need to in order to achieve the audio they're meant to put out. I'd eventually like to get a record player to use with it as well.