SET based system

mullard88

Jun 5, 2010
Hi flez007,

If you don't mind exploring other options for a phono stage within the price range of the FM Acoustic 122, I would recommend the German made SAC gamma phono stage. I have been using one of these for more than six months now and I am very happy with it.

flez007

Member Sponsor
Aug 31, 2010
Mexico City
Never heard of SAC before mullard88, I will investigate as well, thanks for the heads-up.

microstrip

VIP/Donor
May 30, 2010
Portugal
If you are in the expensive phono stage game do not forget the Audio Research Reference Phono 2 - it changed my perception of the intrinsic vinyl limits and possibilities. .

flez007

Member Sponsor
Aug 31, 2010
Mexico City
Thanks microstrip - I have it in my short list as well, but still afraid of microphonics from tubed phono preamps handling low output MCs... :(

flez007

Member Sponsor
Aug 31, 2010
Mexico City
I made some changes during the past month or so:

i) I sold the Reimyo DAC, now playing CD with a Gamut CD1R.
ii) i got the WLM passive preamp to equalize the Lyras, nice gadget.
iii) I bought an EAR/Technics 1520 reel-to-reel deck modified by Tim de Paravicini, it opened a new window as for music reoroduction.

Pics comming.....

mep

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
Flez- ARC uses FETs for the first gain stage so you only have to worry if a tube goes microphonic no more or less than when a tube goes microphonic anywhere else in your system.

flez007

Member Sponsor
Aug 31, 2010
Mexico City
Thanks for the clarification mep, I was afraid that was the case of the AR unit as well as many other tubed-based MC phono stages.

mep

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
If they are pure tube, it is a problem. My Counterpoint SA-2 pre-preamp is pure tube and I have to buy four 6922 types of tubes that have been graded for super low noise.

flez007

Member Sponsor
Aug 31, 2010
Mexico City