Stupid questions, SFP+ and some other things.

Xymox

Apr 16, 2019
www.appletvx.com
So I have a few questions. Please don't smack me too hard for asking stupid questions and being a noob here.

I guess my first question is why all the high end audio switches are based on reworked consumer solutions ? You take covers off these high end switches and the base unit before power supply changes and caps and other things like a ext clock in and you find its a low performance, older, basic, consumer switch like you get at Best Buy.

I suppose because far better switches with up to date technology, management software, modern interfaces like SFP+ don't sound good ? Or is it that they were not considered before modding and listening ?

Mikrotik and Ubiquiti make nice products. Whats wrong with someone modding one of those and listening ?

I could see that finding a switch that could get a 10Mhz clock input to work on a board with its existing clock would be tricky so possibly a switch was picked that could do that even tho its does not have the lowest jitter chips. OK I could see some voodoo and maybe some RF noise being relevant in a choice. But honestly I just don't think professional devices are really being looked at ?

So I am confuzed as to why consumer devices are the basis for many high end audio switches ?

Different question. SFP+.. A SFP+ single mode optical link has less jitter. The high link speed provides a larger headroom so the link is less disturbed by streaming data. The chips that handle 60Gbps switching are far less disturbed ( jittered ) by audio streaming packets. A whole switch that is 60Gbps is just more stable and less jittery.. I would also argue that maybe the higher clock speeds and higher freq RF moves the noise further out of the bands that matter to the gear. I suppose some voodoo might be at work, and there is something not apparent, that makes these far more power switches not sound as good ?