Any Metric Halo LIO-8 users here ? .....

Hi Joe,

I've been using a ULN-8 for a few years now. (Was actually beta testing it for a few before it was released to the public.)

A bunch of colleagues periodically do a blind test where everyone receives sets of files created with about a dozen converters. No one knows which converter created which set until long after listening. So far, I haven't heard anything I think is as transparent as the '8.

There are a lot of converters nowadays that sound very good. That is exactly what I find wrong with them. Some of the last few "comers" brought to my studio for comparison were shamed by the '8, in spite of rave reviews from some quarters. I think that is attributable to some folks liking a certain sound. For folks seeking a "sound", one of those will likely satisfy, depending on the sort of sound they seek.

What I love about the '8 is the enormous amount of trouble I've had pinning down its "sound". So far, when used at a 4x rate (i.e., 176.4k or 192k), I haven't been able to distinguish its output from my microphone feed. That is something I've never experienced before with any other device, analog or digital, regardless of price.

Best regards,
Barry
www.soundkeeperrecordings.com
www.barrydiamentaudio.com

Barry, I'm also a fellow LIO-8 owner. Was wondering your view on the value, if any, of loopback tests like this one in quantifying and ranking DAC transparency. http://www.gearslutz.com/board/gear...converter-da-ad-loopback-shootout-thread.html

Thanks.