Finally got a pair of Maggie’s

sc53

Jan 14, 2014
I’ve been reading these forums for a couple of years getting the feel of the place. I got deep into the postponement and final arrival of Ron’s New System. I was an English major and grad student so I love a good story esp with dramatic elements. Today I drove 2 hrs to Breezewood PA to pick up a pair of not-even-broken-in-yet Magneplanar 1.7i from a very accommodating fellow hobbyist who lives in Pittsburgh. He met me in Breezewood for the exchange. I am a box speaker gal from age 12 until I retired 4 yrs ago. Now I’m satisfying my curiosity about single driver, and baffle-less, and horn, and planar speakers. I haven’t replaced my Audio Physic Avantera+ or Proac Response D15 or little Harbeth P3ESR but I’ve moved them into the corners of various rooms to try these other technologies after so many years of reading reviews about them. Now that I’m retired I figured it’s now or never. I’m open to advice on speaker cables and tweaks on placement of these Maggie’s. I’m using my Ayre VX5-Twenty amp right now and will also try my BAT VK55SE monoblocks on them. I’m amazed at the bass. I’m hearing lower bass than I do on my Audio Physics which I did not expect. I know a lot of people on here have panel speakers so I’m finally posting since today I joined the club!

Attachments

• IMG_3640.jpeg
    IMG_3640.jpeg
    961.9 KB · Views: 62

ScottK

Apr 30, 2023
mars
Nice! congratulations. Would love to hear.

Reactions: sc53

MRJAZZ

Industry Expert
Jan 20, 2014