Marc's system

2fastdriving

Jan 19, 2023
Hi everyone, I have been more or less a lurker on this forum, but I wanted to share my system after my most recent updates.

A little about me, my name is Marc and I'm a software developer. I live in the Seattle area near Mike Lavigne, and as you can imagine, he is pretty influential on my journey and I feel extremely lucky to know him. I'm also very happy to know other local gurus Rex Hungerford and Ed DeVito.

I started out about 14 years ago with a modest B&W system, climbed that ladder with McIntosh gear, and eventually switched to all Audio Research and Wilson. Then I got obsessed with Esoteric and Shunyata products. These 4 brands have dominated my system for the last decade.

I mentioned that Mike is pretty influential...after hearing his system several times in the past few years, I decided that I really needed to double down on vinyl. It's something that I have had in my system but never treated it as my main source. Streaming and/or CD had always been my main source, and my N-01XD has been a fantastic partner in my rig. But Mike's vinyl is other-worldly and I wanted to see how far I could go in that direction.

I had considered a few different tables, but honestly none of them wowed me in the looks department other than some Acoustic Signature and TechDas models. I liked the Esoteric, it would have fit in with my system perfectly since I have always had Esoteric digital, but didn't know how good it might be, and thought it was out of my price range anyway. Then I talked to Michael Fremer and found that he was reviewing the Esoteric T1 and he raved about it to me (His review should be hitting your mailbox now). Right after that, I heard that Mike Lavigne had bought one and of course I headed straight over to his place to hear it for myself.