Alesis Masterlink 9600: Expert Help/Advice Needed.

Grooves

Feb 29, 2012
Pacific Northwest
Hello Gang,

I wasn’t sure where to post this so I am posting it on the “General” forum. I need help from someone who “knows” their way around an Alesis Masterlink 9600 digital recorder.

I have a Masterlink 9600 of “2002” vintage. Recently, I upgraded the EPROM from v. 1.23 to 1.27. I was told (and read) that with this EPROM update I could then update the OS from v. 2.21 to v. 3.03., which I did.

All was fine for a week or two. Then suddenly I have no display or text at startup but I do have power to the HD and DVD/CD. None of the functions work though I do have some “green” lights. The HD/CD selector is not responding. It’s as if the HD isn’t being recognized by the logic board and so it can’t boot the system.

I have an extra HD with OS v. 2.21 and hooked it up. No change. I put the original EPROM back in and tried HD’s with OS v. 2.21 and v. 3.03. No change.

I am in contact with Alesis (email) but the rate of exchange is really slow and tedious. All I can gather at this point is that I should probably have not loaded OS v. 3.03 in a unit older than “2008” despite being told and reading from others that updating the EPROM allows one to update the OS and the HD, DVD/CD drives.

So either something went amuck on the logic board itself or something was corrupted on the logic board from my loading OS v. 3.03.
I am looking for a way to get the logic board to again see the HD. Any ideas? Any help would be appreciated!!

DonH50

Member Sponsor & WBF Technical Expert
Jun 22, 2010
Monument, CO
Can't help with the logic, but it sort of sounds like something else went bad if it worked for a couple of weeks before losing the drive and replacing the HD and logic (program) chip did not help. Like maybe the HD interface died...

Grooves

Feb 29, 2012
Pacific Northwest