An Introduction from Songer Audio

ken.png

We're so happy to have joined the What's Best Forum community!

Below you'll find a little information about myself, Songer Audio, and of course the 100% handcrafted field coil loudspeakers that we make in Portland, Oregon.

About Songer Audio

Songer Audio is the product of my lifelong passion. It is the sum of thousands of hours of design and redesign, of refinement and production, and of an obsessive drive to perfect the joyful experience of music. My background is in software engineering, where I had a successful 20-plus year long career. While I owe much to the software industry, programming was rarely more than a means to a paycheck for me, rather than something I've loved to do. I've always been an artist at heart, and whether I've been drawing, sculpting, painting - or, most recently, designing and building drivers and loudspeakers - creating art has been my true calling.

surrounds_and_voice_coils.jpeg

I have been occasionally designing and building speaker cabinets with factory drivers since my college days. At a point however, I began to wonder if I could produce the drivers for my speakers as well. That curiosity led to a nearly decade-long, obsessive exploration into field coil driver design, and the result of that work is what I believe to be one of the finest full-range drivers in the world. It is a work of art, and everything from its brass and aluminum frame, to the cones and voice coils, the suspension, the surrounds, the motors - is all constructed and assembled in my small shop in Portland, Oregon.

s2_type_d_paf.png