Genesis Advanced Technologies SuperSub Subwoofer

pweg

Jun 7, 2014
Australia
What does this number mean to you? “Peak” output power at what duration of peak? A few nanoseconds?

I think this is a spurious figure. 21,200 watts at 120 volts implies 177 amps. I don’t think so.

Jeremy, what say you?
i can only use my version as an example as Nathan hasn't pub;ished all the figures for the 18.2

my 18.0LX has an RMS output of 4400 and peak 10400. The 18.2 uses an outboard amp with 2 connected power cables. The driver motor unit is all about heat dissipation. They are very very serious units.

LL21

Dec 26, 2010
What does this number mean to you? “Peak” output power at what duration of peak? A few nanoseconds?

I think this is a spurious figure. 21,200 watts at 120 volts implies 177 amps. I don’t think so.

Jeremy, what say you?
I think amps with 'peak' capability of 100amperes is not that unusual. I am no techie, but the Torus 16amp has peak of at least 20x that or something as I recall. This enables instantenous peaks not to be blunted by lack of headroom.

That said, the main standing steady constant amperage is probably a more meaningful stat (as stats go as meaningful in the first place!)

sbo6

VIP/Donor
May 18, 2014
Round Rock, TX
The funk 18.2 has a peak output power of 21200 watts. If you had 2 of them that’s 40kw

I have the model below which is rated at 10400 watts peak. I’m not sure your comparing apples with apples when u compare an 18.2 to any sort of Rel. let alone 2 x 18.2. Also, with the model below the 18.2 you are only looking at $8700 not close to $20k each.
I would worry less about total output power and cone area and more about tuneability (DEQ) and ultimately sound quality. My 2 cents FWIW.

Reactions: dbeau

Folsom

VIP/Donor
Oct 25, 2015
Eastern WA

Jeremy, what say you?

Well 177amps won't be drawn from the wall so it'd have to be related to what's onboard the amplifier. I haven't seen the amps but that does seem really high for usable power.