DAC recommendations

May 12, 2024
Green Bay, WI
Looking for DAC recommendations. Currently have D'Agostino progression on order. Have TAD ME1's and using Rose RS150B. Considering Tambaqi, Esoteric N-01-XD- any others I should consider ? Thank you.

What is your budget and what are your priorities? That will assist in making recommendations.

I personally think that Rose RS150B has a fairly decent DAC output. If you’re going to pair with D’Agostino, you may want to wait to get your DAC to make sure you don’t go over board on the analog sound.

That said, a tube DAC (e.g. Lampizator) or R2R DACs (e.g. Holo, MSB, TotalDAC, Schiit, etc) tend to give a warmer sound that people consider to be analog. I have a hunch Tambaqui or Esoteric may not be your cup of tea. They’re more somewhere between what I suggested and your Rose. So they may not be analog enough for you. But like I said, it depends on how you find the D’Agostino to begin with. I think system synergy is very important in this situation.

$5k to $25k USD. Not sure what u mean by priorities ? The most analog sound is probably most important. That said is there a point of minimal return for the money ? Thx.

I went through an extensive DAC shootout over the past year. While we all have different needs so our experiences don’t overlap 100%, I had to jump in since you mentioned “analog” sound which is something I was looking for as well - organic and non-fatiguing.

I ended up with the Playback Designs MPD-8 and highly recommend it. It comes in at the top of your price range.

If you click on my name you can check out my thread as I posted various impressions of the DACs I tried. Feel free to reach out via PM if you’d like to discuss.

I went through an extensive DAC shootout over the past year. While we all have different needs so our experiences don’t overlap 100%, I had to jump in since you mentioned “analog” sound which is something I was looking for as well - organic and non-fatiguing.