Tube Advice: 7788 (E810F)

jazdoc

Member Sponsor
Aug 7, 2010
Bellevue
Hoping for advice from anyone who has experience with this tube. My phono preamp uses a pair in the signal box. I've used Amperex tubes and they are a little "tubey". Recently tried Telefunken (West Germany) and they are quicker (which I like) but a little lean. I'm looking for a 'Goldilocks' tube somewhere in between. Any suggestions?

Thanks.

I wish I could help out here, but I can't. I have no experience with that tube and don't think I own any to lend to you to try. That is not a common tube, but I know you enjoy driving down the road less traveled.

My sample of the Allnic H3000 uses the mullards. I have never had any cause to think they aren't just fine, not too lush and not too tight.

Thanks guys! I'll try the tube dampers. It was my impression that the Mullards were just branded Amperex tubes...am I wrong?

It was my impression that the Mullards were just branded Amperex tubes...am I wrong?

Re-branding of tubes has always been all over the map!!! You would need an old tube guru who used the exact tubes when they were $2 or $3 to ?possibly? know. BUT, you could check the Internet [maybe Facebook]; you are sure to get an honest & accurate answer ;).

zz.

Re-branding of tubes has always been all over the map!!! You would need an old tube guru who used the exact tubes when they were $2 or $3 to ?possibly? know. BUT, you could check the Internet [maybe Facebook]; you are sure to get an honest & accurate answer ;).

zz.

I thought that if it was on the internet it had to be true!

About us