The Econimist - Obituary for software patents

Finally, a thread I can contribute to! I've been a patent lawyer since 1982, both in corporate practice and then in private practice representing multinationals, domestic companies, startup companies and universities. I've never represented a patent troll. To me the Economist article is riddled with mistakes and the connection between the issues at hand for the US Supreme Court and the issues of patent trolls are tenuous at best. Here's my take:

The Supreme Court will be once again tackling the issue of patent eligibility of computer software. Big emphasis on patent "eligibility". Under US patent law, there are various criteria under which to judge whether an invention is deserving of the exclusionary rights that are granted by a patent. In order to get a patent, the invention must be novel (new- can't rediscover a lost idea whose time has come), unobvious (the invention must go beyond what would be expected of a skilled worker in the field) and adequately disclosed (described in sufficient detail to teach others how to practice the invention and to show that the inventor really had possession of his invention).

Patent eligibility is a different matter. The courts have long noted that certain things are not even eligible for a patent, so you don't even get to argue novelty, unobviousness and adequate disclosure. These things are laws of nature ("I hereby patent gravity or calculus"), natural phenomena ("I hereby patent a new rock I found") or abstract ideas ("I hereby patent hedging").