Advice on electrical circuit for Audio in new listening room

triode12

Mar 15, 2016
Hi All,

I'm currently in the planning stage of converting part of my garage into a listening room. I have three phase power coming into my home and all three phases have circuits running off them.

I was thinking of moving all of the existing circuits onto two phases and using the third phase exclusively for the wiring up circuits for powering my audio equipment, in the new listening room.

However, my friend who is a electrician (but not an audiophile) and whom is going to be doing the work, thinks it is unnecessary. He can do it but thinks that it is an unnecessary expense.

What do you guys think?

brad225

VIP/Donor
Nov 22, 2012
I'm not an electrician but, for the same reason you ideally keep all of the power for your equipment on a single phase on a typical panel in the USA.
I would say yes.
I don't know where you are located triode, though, I know some areas have 3 phase power.

Last edited:
Reactions: triode12

MarkusBarkus

Feb 6, 2021
...if you run a new line(s) to the garage, that labor is the same either way. If you run any 220v lines, you would have to share another phase anyway, right? So, I think the extra cost would be the time to sort out the existing panel...moving breakers around to distribute/balance circuits on the other phases. And possibly going back to a junction box for circuits (wires) not long enough to be relocated. That said, your sparky will know how much hassle it is for him. Some of what we do does not make practical sense to tradespeople. Even dedicated line(s) for audio will be a plus. Getting the fridge and washer separated may help additionally. This coming from a guy who turns off the furnace or A/C for critical listening.

Nice project. Good Luck!

Reactions: mxk116 and triode12

matthias

Mar 14, 2019
Germany